I Would Seek Peace Gently: A Poem

I would seek peace gently
before the face of God.

Rest scrapes against fingertips, falls,
rolls to corners of cobwebbed rooms
REM comes easy
when basset-faced and bleary-eyed
but rest?
Real rest?
Restoration?

I wake to the absurdity
of God bargains and syllogisms
of escape from wholeness,
hallelus for Hell’s mouth
spitting,
sulfurous,
curved in mock grin

Daughters, they lust after numbness.
And sons forge a drug for each pang.
But I will welcome the kiss
of shard on hardened sole.
Peeled back,
Foot raw,
Runner racing.

To seek and find some wisp of peace
That peace, good God! That gentle peace
Pluck me up God so good
Catch me in your crook and
Claim me,
Calm me,
Close my eyes.

One thought on “I Would Seek Peace Gently: A Poem

Leave a Reply

